24 Hour Support and Information Line: 1-800-726-2743

24 Hour Support and
Information Line: 1-800-726-2743

Who We Are

Vision Statement

The NLSACPC aspires to a world where all individuals are empowered and mobilized to create communities free from sexual violence. We provide a leadership role in listening to, believing, and supporting individuals who have experienced sexual violence through empowerment, advocacy, and awareness.

Mission Statement

We are a non-profit, community-based, charitable organization that exists to support individuals of all genders who have been impacted by sexual violence. We operate from a feminist, pro-choice, trauma-informed, person-centered perspective where individuals with lived experienced are honoured for their unique strengths, needs, skills, and abilities.

Our History


Our roots were first established in 1977 through the Newfoundland Status of Women Council by an incredible group of women who volunteered their time, expertise, and resources. The tireless work of this small, but fierce, group of women mirrored a national movement wherein feminists across the country were establishing community-based, women-run rape crisis centres and support lines through the offering of direct support, reducing secondary wounding, and large-scale advocacy.

We were known as the St. John’s Rape Crisis Centre until we became provincially mandated and recognized as the NL Sexual Assault Crisis & Prevention Centre. We have provided front-line services to individuals who have experienced sexualized violence since our inception and continue to honour the work, dedication, and passion of those before us.

Our Staff – St.John’s

Sandra McKellar

Executive Director

Dawn Nolan

Administrative Assistant

Michaelea Silver

Crisis Support Coordinator

Vanessa Price

Office Assistant

Our Staff – Labrador

Deirdre Connolly

Sexual Violence Prevention Coordinator

Labrador Office

45 Grenfell Street
PO BOX 2847, Stn. B
Happy Valley-Goose Bay, NL
A0P 1E0


The Journey Project Team

Legal Support Navigators

Ashley MacDonald

Mandy Penney


Board of Directors

Tj Jones (Chair)
Robyn Peddle (Treasurer)
Jackie Thompson

Petrina Beals
Simone Dyall
Carol-Lynne D’Arcangelis
Elsie Russell

24 Hour Support and Information Line: 1-800-726-2743

15 Hallett Cres Suite 101,
St. John’s, NL, A1B 4C4

Office Phone: 709-747-7757

Fax: 709-747-7758